Airing My Dirty Laundry

As ever, brilliant. I want to share my laundry with the world too – and if that stops me from getting jobs or I lose a few friends – fuck them! I’m enough as I am, and my depression isn’t going to ever disappear – it’s part of who I am and I have to deal with that. So if it makes you feel uncomfortable that I’m depressed – you can just go ahead and leave my life – because I don’t need you. I have enough on my plate.

The Belle Jar

TW for talk of suicide

Since writing (or being featured in) a number of pieces recently about mental health this week – namely, this one about the challenges I face as a parent living with mental illness, and this one in The Star about the Mystery Room posters in the TTC – I’ve had a number of commenters asking why I’m choosing to “air my dirty laundry.” Why, they wonder, do I want to share such personal information on the internet? Don’t I value my privacy? Or am I just hungry for attention?

What these commenters are really asking is: why do you talk about things as shameful and embarrassing as depression, anxiety and suicide?

What these commenters are really saying is: the things that you have written here has made me uncomfortable, although I can’t quite articulate why.

What these commenters are really wondering is: how can she be mentally ill…

View original post 1,017 more words

Leave a Reply

